Zebra & Giraffe, Van Coke Kartel dominate MK nominations - Times LIVE
Mon Apr 24 17:03:15 SAST 2017

Zebra & Giraffe, Van Coke Kartel dominate MK nominations

Times LIVE | 2013-02-01 13:35:46.0

MK is back with the 7th annual MK Awards which will see SA’s hottest music talent competing in 10 categories.

Viewers votes will determine who will come out as winners at the finale event to be held at The State Theatre in Pretoria on March 24, 2013.

MK has changed things up a bit for this year’s awards by introducing the Best SA Music Festival and Best Solo categories.

Phase one of the MK Awards 2013 took place between January 10 and 25, where people had the opportunity to nominate who they felt best deserved to be nominated in the Best Live and Best SA Music Festival categories.

The artists and festival which came out with the most nominations by January 25 were included as official nominees.

Now that the full list of MK Awards 2013 nominees have been announced, viewers will have between February 1 and March 8, 2013 to vote on MK’s website and Facebook page.

The nominees for 2013 are

Best Video
Die Heuwels Fantasties – Verraadplaas
Tailor – Wolf
The Frown – The National
The Parlotones – Honey Spiders
Van Coke Kartel – Tot Die Son Uitkom
Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame you

Best Newcomer
Gangs Of Ballet – Hello Sweet World
Goodnight Wembley – Time Machine
Spoegwolf – Lenie Blou
Tailor – Wolf

Toya DeLazy – Pump It On
Woodstock Mafia – Electric Light

Best Group
Die Antwoord – Baby Is On Fire
ISO – Destiny
The Plastics – Stereo Kids
Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land
Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame You

Best Rock
Jack Parow ft. Francois van Coke – Hard Partytjie Hou
Taxi Violence – Unholy
Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land
Woodstock Mafia – Electric Light
Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame You

Best SFX/Animation
Absinthe – Love Will Tear US Apart
Haezer ft. Lark – Brave
Mr Sakitumi – Jungle Jimmy
The Frown – The National
The Parlotones – Honey Spiders

Best Indie
Ashtray Electric – Bittersweet Manipulator
Black Handed Kites – Up
Mug-Shot – Bare Bones
Shortstraw – One Long Day
The Plastics – Stereo Kids

Best Dance
Die Antwoord – Baby Is On Fire

Double Adapter – Eat You Alive
Goodluck – Harlem
Johnny Neon – Hearts
Pascal & Pearce – Disco Sun

Best Solo
Bouwer Bosch ft. Jaco van der Merwe – (K)anker
ChianoSky – Sick Sick Sick
Jeremy Loops – Howling
Shotgun Tori – Sweet Weather
Toya DeLazy – Love Is In The Air

Best Live Act
Gangs of Ballet
Jeremy Loops

The Black Cat Bones
Van Coke Kartel

Best SA Music Festival
Oppikoppi 2012
RAMfest 2012
Rocking The Daisies 2012
Synergy 2012
Up The Creek 2012

Voting has officially begun, and will end at 12:00 on March 8, 2013.

To get voting, head over to: www.mktv.co.za


For exclusive updates on the MK Awards 2013, be sure to follow MK on:

Twitter:@mktv_ #MKAwards

Facebook: www.facebook.com/mktv.co.za


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.