ANC nominates top six candidates - Times LIVE
Mon Apr 24 17:08:02 SAST 2017

ANC nominates top six candidates

Sapa | 2012-12-17 15:32:20.0
Delegates photograph themselves on an advertisement for the ANC's 53rd National Conference at the University of the Free State in Mangaung. 17 December 2012.
Image by: Daniel Born

Delegates at the ANC's national elective conference in Mangaung completed their nominations for the party's top six officials on Monday afternoon.

President Jacob Zuma and his deputy Kgalema Motlanthe were both nominated to lead the African National Congress.

When Thobile Thomas, from the party's electoral commission, announced Motlanthe's name there was a smattering of applause from delegates in the 6000-seater tent. When Zuma's name was announced the plenary marquee erupted in cheers.

During the process delegates were given the opportunity to nominate candidates from the floor. This nomination had to be supported by 25 percent of the conference, which amounted to 1019 delegates.

There were no nominations from the floor for the position of president.

Thomas announced four candidates' names for the position of deputy president -- Motlanthe, Cyril Ramaphosa, Mathews Phosa, and Tokyo Sexwale. Current ANC chairwoman Baleka Mbete declined her nomination.

Motlanthe withdrew his nomination at the last minute.

This was met with loud applause from delegates supporting Zuma, and who wanted Ramaphosa to be his deputy.

Four candidates were nominated for the position of national chairperson. However one, Thenjiwe Mtintso, declined the nomination. This left Mbete, Free State premier Ace Magashule and Thandi Modise to stand for the position. Magashule withdrew.

"Amandla. Comrades I will do what comrade Tokyo [Sexwale] did in Polokwane and withdraw in favour of comrade Mbete," Magashule told the conference.

Gwede Mantashe and Fikile Mbalula were nominated for the position of secretary-general, currently filled by Mantashe.

Several delegates booed when Thomas announced Mbalula's name.

Five candidates were nominated for deputy secretary-general and three, Mbalula, Febe Potgieter-Gqubule and Mtintso, declined.

This left Jessie Duarte and Thandi Modise in the race. Modise stood up and withdrew her candidature. This meant Duarte was uncontested in the position.

Delegates chanted "Jessie, Jessie, Jessie".

There were four candidates for the ANC's last top six position of treasurer general -- Gauteng ANC chairman Paul Mashatile, KwaZulu-Natal chairman Zweli Mkhize, Sexwale, and national executive committee member Lindiwe Sisulu.

Sisulu declined her nomination before conference.

When Thomas asked if any of the remaining candidates wanted to withdraw Mashatile stepped up to the microphone.

As he was about to speak Sexwale withdrew his acceptance.

"Chairperson, I can't count the money, I withdraw as treasurer," he said.

Mashatile stepped back down and his name remained on the nomination list.

Over 4000 delegates would vote for their candidates during the course of Monday. It was not clear when results would be announced.

Votes would be counted manually.


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.