Formula One's milestone races on way to 1,000th Grand Prix

A look back at some historic F1 highlights leading up to this weekend's landmark Chinese Grand Prix

09 April 2019 - 07:21 By Reuters
The F1 chequered flag will wave for the 1,000th time this weekend in China.
The F1 chequered flag will wave for the 1,000th time this weekend in China.
Image: Reuters

Formula One's 1,000th world championship race will be the Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai this weekend. The following looks at the other milestone races over the years.

The first - British Grand Prix, Silverstone, May 13, 1950

The first championship race at the former World War Two airfield was won by Italian Giuseppe 'Nino' Farina in an Alfa Romeo. The Italian marque filled the podium after also sweeping the four-car front row. Ferrari did not participate. The race was attended by 200,000 spectators including King George VI.

100th - German Grand Prix, Nuerburgring. Aug 6, 1961

Stirling Moss won in a Lotus for the privately-run Rob Walker team, with American Phil Hill on pole for Ferrari. It was the Briton's 16th and last F1 victory, ending a four-race streak of Ferrari wins. In 1962 Moss, four times a championship runner-up, crashed at Goodwood and retired from grand prix racing.

200th - Monaco Grand Prix. May 23, 1971

Jackie Stewart won from pole for Tyrrell. Swedish great Ronnie Peterson, who died at Monza seven years later, was second for his first Formula One podium finish while Jacky Ickx was third for Ferrari. The race was later immortalised as 'Weekend of a Champion', a documentary by director Roman Polanski.

300th - South African Grand Prix, Kyalami. March 4, 1978

Peterson was the winner in a black and gold Lotus 78, with reigning champion Niki Lauda on pole for Brabham. American Mario Andretti was to win the championship that year. The race also saw the debut of 1982 world champion Keke Rosberg, father of 2016 champion Nico.

400th - Austrian Grand Prix, Oesterreichring. Aug 19, 1984

Lauda won his home race for McLaren, despite a late gearbox problem. It was his 23rd win and gave the Austrian the championship lead in a year that was to end with him taking his third title. Lauda's compatriot Gerhard Berger, a future McLaren and Ferrari driver, made his F1 debut with the ATS BMW team.

500th - Australian Grand Prix, Adelaide. Nov. 4, 1990

Brazilian Ayrton Senna started on pole for McLaren but compatriot Nelson Piquet was the winner for Benetton. The race was overshadowed by the previous grand prix in Japan where Senna and former team mate Alain Prost collided, leaving Senna to win his second title. This race was Nigel Mansell's last for Ferrari.

PODCAST: Cargumentative – Why should all first Ferrari be red?

600th - Argentine Grand Prix, Buenos Aires. April 13, 1997

Canada's Jacques Villeneuve, to be champion that year with Williams, won from pole after taking victory also in the previous race in Brazil. Ferrari's Eddie Irvine was second and Ralf Schumacher third for Jordan.

700th - Brazilian Grand Prix, Interlagos. April 6, 2003

A chaotic grand prix, with torrential rain and the race stopped on the 56th of 71 laps due to crashes. McLaren's Kimi Raikkonen was announced as the winner but 10 days later the victory was reassigned to Jordan's Giancarlo Fisichella. The Italian collected his trophy at Imola. The win was Jordan's last, in their 200th start. Fernando Alonso was third but missed the podium because he was getting medical attention.

800th - Singapore Grand Prix. Sept 28, 2008

The first night race under floodlights turned out to be a dark one after it emerged a year later that Nelson Piquet Jnr had crashed deliberately on lap 14 to bring out the safety car and help Renault team mate Alonso win, from 15th on the grid. Ferrari's Felipe Massa, leading from pole, could also feel that this race cost him the title, the Brazilian leaving the pits with the fuel hose still attached and dropping to last. He ended the season losing to McLaren's Lewis Hamilton by a point.

900th - Bahrain Grand Prix. April 6, 2014

Nico Rosberg started the third race of the season on pole for Mercedes but his team mate Hamilton, who had started alongside, won after taking the lead into the first corner. A late safety car deployment allowed Rosberg to get close to Hamilton again but the Briton stayed ahead.

1,000th  - Chinese Grand Prix, Shanghai. April 14, 2019

Who will win the 1,000th race? Mercedes arrive after two one-two finishes from two races, but wary of Ferrari after Charles Leclerc took pole in Bahrain and set the fastest lap.