20 Kenya university campuses ordered to shut

20 January 2016 - 15:22 By Agency Staff

Kenya's Commission for University Education (CUE) has ordered the closure of 20 campuses for failure to meet the country's required learning standards.

In an audit last year, CUE established that 10 university campuses in the Kisii county, among others, were either an unfit or low quality learning environment.

According to K24, other campuses ordered to close included St Paul's University Church House, Moi University campus in Nairobi, Egerton University Nairobi Campus, African Nazarene University Nairobi CBD Campus, South Eastern Kenya University City campus, Dedan Kimathi University of Technology Union Towers campus in Nairobi, Multimedia University CBD campus, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology Nairobi campus, JKUAT Westlands campus and Kabarak University Nairobi campus.

The campuses were ordered to close immediately, the Standard reported. Seventeen other campuses were put under review.

Some of the campuses ordered to shut down were issued a closure notice last year for failing to adhere to the Higher Education Act. They were given 90 days to relocate students and wind up operations.

Source: News24