Zuma announces cabinet reshuffle

31 October 2010 - 20:28 By Sapa

President Jacob Zuma on Sunday announced his cabinet reshuffle which saw some ministers lose their jobs and additional appointments of deputy ministers to some ministries.

"We have taken a long and hard look at some departments with a view to strengthen some ministries and noted some of them needed additional deputy ministers to assist them in their duties," Zuma said when announcing the reshuffle at the presidential guest house in Pretoria.

"We had to change the way government works in order to improve service delivery. Our mission was guided by improving the quality of the lives of South Africans."


After careful consideration, I have decided to make the following appointments of Ministers and Deputy Ministers, in no specific order:


Minister Siphiwe Nyanda was replaced by Minister: Mr Radhakrishna “Roy” Padayachie

Deputy Minister: Mr Obed Bapela.

Social Development

Minister Edna Molewa replaced by Minister: Ms Bathabile Dlamini

Deputy Minister: Ms Maria Ntuli

Public Entreprises:

Minister Barbara Hogan replaced by Minister: Mr Malusi Gigaba

Deputy Minister: Mr Benedict “Ben” Martins

Arts and Culture

Minister Lulu Xingwana was replaced by Minister: Mr Paul Mashatile

Deputy Minister: Dr Joseph Phaahla

Public Works:

Minister Geoff Doidge was replaced by Minister: Ms Gwen Mahlangu-Nkabinde

Water and Environmental Affairs:

Minister Buyelwa Sonjica was replaced by Minister: Ms Edna Molewa

Women, Children and Persons with Disability:

Minister Noluthando Mayende-Sibiya was replaced by Minister: Ms Lulu Xingwana

Sports and Recreation

Minister Makhenkesi Stofile was replaced by Minister: Mr Fikile Mbalula

Presidency: Performance Monitoring, Evaluation and Administration:

Deputy Minister: Ms Dina Deliwe Pule

Correctional services:

Deputy Minister, Adv Ngoako Ramathlodi

Trade and Industry:

Deputy Minister: Ms Elizabeth Thabethe

Economic Development

Deputy Minister: Mr Enoch Godongwana


Deputy Minister: Ms Barbara Thompson


Deputy Minister: Dr Gwen Ramokgopa

Higher Education:

Deputy Minister: Ms Hlengiwe Mkhize

Home Affairs:

Deputy Minister: Ms Fatima Chohan


Membathisi Mdladlana replaced by Minister: Ms Mildred Oliphant

Mineral Resources:

Deputy Minister: Godfrey Oliphant


Deputy Minister: Makhotso Magdeline Sotyu

International Relations and Cooperation

Deputy Minister: Mr Marius Fransman

Public Service and Administration:

Deputy Minister: Ms Ayanda Dlodlo

Rural Development and Land Reform

Deputy Minister: Mr Thembelani “Thulas” Nxesi