Press Freedom Commission launched

07 July 2011 - 19:03 By Press Freedom Commission
Image: Zapiro

Print Media South Africa (PMSA) and South African National Editors Forum (SANEF) have launched a commission to look at media regulation.



The Press Freedom Commission is launched: An independent investigative commission to look at the regulation of print media

The Body initiated is a Commission named the Press Freedom Commission (PFC) initiated by Print Media South Africa (PMSA) and South African National Editors Forum (SANEF). The PFC will be looking at various forms of regulation in terms of press regulation.

The PFC comprises of professionals in various fields to cast an independent look at self regulation of print media in South Africa. The PFC Commissioners are:

  1. Chairperson: Justice Pius Langa
  2. Archbishop Thabo Makgoba (Faith based)
  3. Ms Futhi Mtoba (Business)
  4. Derick Elbrecht (Labour)
  5. Santie Botha (Business Marketing)
  6. Prof. Kobus van Rooyen (Law)
  7. Dr Phil Mthimkulu (Academia)
  8. Adv Anshal Bodasing (Law)
  9. Prof Kwame Karikari (International-Ghana)

The Primary Objective of the PFC:

To Ensure:

  • Press freedom in support of enhancing our democracy which is founded on human dignity, equality and freedom.

The Secondary Objectives of the PFC:

  1. In support of our primary objective, the commission will review best practice locally and globally re: the regulation of specifically print media.
  2. Recommendations on the way forward will be developed and published to the stakeholders and in the public domain.
  3. The process for the finalisation of the recommendations will be completed by the end March 2012.