Lood locks onto SA's top rugby award

26 February 2016 - 09:08 By CRAIG RAY

Last night, Lood de Jager became the first lock since Hennie Bekker in 1983 to be crowned the South African Rugby Player of the Year.The 23-year-old Springbok is also the youngest player to win the award since 22-year-old Bryan Habana claimed the gong in 2005.De Jager, who plays for the Cheetahs, is only the third lock to win the award since its inception in 1977 - following Moaner van Heerden (1977) and Bekker.

This article is reserved for Sunday Times subscribers but, for a limited time, is free to read on our newly relaunched website.

To access the article, you only need to register – it’s quick and free. Already registered? Simply sign in below.

If you’ve already registered on the BusinessLIVE, Business Day, Financial Mail or Rand Daily Mail websites? Sign in with the same details.

Note: Login details from the former TimesLIVE/Sunday Times website are no longer valid. Please register again.

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@timeslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.