We've got news for you.

Register on TimesLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

ANC's new Limpopo committee holds first meeting

04 January 2012 - 12:16 By Sapa
Image: File Picture

The ANC's new Limpopo provincial executive committee (PEC) met for the first time on Tuesday, the party said in a statement.

The meeting, held at the Frans Mohlala House, in Polokwane, was chaired by Cassel Mathale, provincial party spokesman Makonde Mathivha said on Wednesday.

The organising and finalisation of travel logistics for the imminent ANC centenary celebrations in Mangaung, Free State, over the weekend, were on the agenda.

Also included was the upcoming provincial rally to launch the region's leg of this year's centenary activities for 2012, and the appointment of convenors for the new PEC's 15 sub-committees.

"Buses have been arranged and all travel logistics have been finalised to take Limpopo ANC members to Mangaung to join other ANC members as well as members of society as a whole," said Mathivha.

"The ANC Limpopo has recommitted itself to rebuilding the organisation with an aim to continue instilling values of the ANC by ensuring broader community satisfaction with the party's governance in the province," he said.

The PEC resolved to host the province's own centenary rally on January 14 at the Matlelerekeng sports ground in the Ephraim Mogale area of the Sekhukhune region.

The convenors for the 15 PEC sub-committees, including some unchanged members, were also finalised at the meeting.

These included; legislature and governance - Dickson Masemola, deployment - Soviet Lekganyane, organising and campaigns - Thabitha Mohlala, economic transformation - Pitsi Moloto, political education and training - David Masondo, communications - Makonde Mathivha, finance - Pinky Kekana, elections - Florence Dzhombere, health - Gobrey Kgobe, education - Derrick Ngobeni, social transformation - Humphrey Mokgobi, peace and stability - Livhuhani Mabija, international relations - Sello Semomo Maake, provincial disciplinary committee - Joyce Maluleke, committee of religious and traditional affairs - Kgoshigadi Moremadi Mothapo.