Politician awards to ‘inspire lazy MPs’ - but EFF wants no part of it

24 January 2017 - 16:19 By Matthew Savides
EFF leader Julius Malema addresses the media on the 3rd Plenum of the EFF at a media briefing at the EFF’s headquarters on 23 January 2016.
EFF leader Julius Malema addresses the media on the 3rd Plenum of the EFF at a media briefing at the EFF’s headquarters on 23 January 2016.

The South African Politician Awards must be an inspiration for “lazy MPs”.

This is according to businessman Lloyd Ngavu‚ the man behind the first annual SAPAs‚ taking place in Cape Town on February 8. Ngavu said he got the idea for the awards after noticing the pageantry at the annual openings of Parliament and the State of the Nation Address each year.

“I started with the concept from 2014‚ after the national elections. I managed to meet a few people who were interested in supporting [the concept]. It’s a huge event‚ so it needed financial backing‚” he told The Times on Tuesday.

With everything in place‚ and the 250-seat event already sold out‚ Ngavu hopes that the awards will be a carrot dangled in front of politicians to force them to do better.

EFF leader Julius Malema earlier on Tuesday said that he and his party had turned down nomination‚ saying that the awards were nothing more than “personal glorification”.

“We told them we cannot be involved in this. Politicians must not be awarded for doing their jobs‚” he said.

But Ngavu would not weigh in on this.

“That is their own opinion‚” he said.

Instead‚ he defended the SAPAs‚ saying that handing out awards was done in much the same way that companies would reward employees who went beyond the call of duty.

“Irrespective of what is happening in parliament…there are those members who are going the extra mile to help communities live a better live. This must be an inspiration to lazy MPs. [It’s a message] that communities won’t recognise you if you’re not giving them service delivery‚” said Ngavu.

Full list of nominees (as provided by event organisers):

Best Parliamentarian of the Year:

John Steenhuisen

Bantu Holomisa

Terror Lekota

Buti Manamela

Debater of the Year

Nqabayomzi Nkwakhwa

Mkhuleko Hlengwa

Phumzile Van Damme

Committee MP of the Year

Gwede Mantashe

James Selfe

Naledi Pandor

Phumzile Van Damme.

Women in Politics Awards

Lindiwe Zulu

Stella Ndabeni Abrahams

Sisi Ntombela

Phumzile Van Damme

Veronica Van Dyk

Magdelene Moonsamy

Hellen zille

E-Politician of the Year Award

Fikile Mbalula

Mmusi Maimane

Lindiwe Zulu

Afzul Rehman

Public Campaigner of the Year

Mzwandile Masina

Paul Mashatile

 David Makhura

Gwede Mantashe

Mmusi Maimane

Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi

Nomvula Mokonyane

Best Executive Mayor of the Year

Mzwandile Masina

Solly Msimanga

Zandile Gumede

Patricia De Lille

Thabo Manyoni

Parks Tau

Lifetime Politician Icon Achievement Award (honorary award)

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

Best Political Party of the Year







South African Politician of the Year

Mmusi Maimane

Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi

Bantu Holomisa

Mlibo Qoboshiayane

Jacob Zuma

Young Leader Award

Njabulo Nzuza (ANCYL)

Phumzile van Damme (DA)

Mkhuleko Hlengwa (IFP)

Yongama Zigebe(UDM)

Mduduzi Manana (ANC)

 Reggie Nkabinde (ANCYL)

Political Analyst of the Year Award

Somadoda Fikeni

Mcebisi Ndletyana

Aubrey Matshiqi

Steven Friedman

Best Dressed Male Political Figure

Fikile Mbalula Mduduzi Manana Malusi Gigaba Mlibo Qoboshiyane Jeff Radebe

Best Dressed Female Political Figure

Stella Ndabeni Abrahams

Lindiwe Zulu

Lindiwe Sisulu

Thandi Modise

Nomvula Mokonyane

Best Premier of the Year Awards

Gauteng: David Makhura

Eastern Cape: Phumulo Masualle

 Limpopo: Stanley Mathabatha

Free State: Ace Magashule

Western Cape: Hellen Zille

Mpumalanga: David Mabuza

Best Minister of the Year Award

Minister of Home Affairs - Mr Malusi Gigaba

Minister of Water and Sanitation - Ms Nomvula Mokonyane

Minister of Public Works - Mr Thulas Nxesi

Minister of Sport and Recreation - Mr Fikile Mbalula

Minister in the Presidency - Mr Jeff Radebe

Deputy Minister of Communications - Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

Citizen’s Choice of the Year Award

Fikile Mbalula

Malusi Gigaba

Ace Magashule

Mcebisi Jonas

Nqabayomzi Nkwakwa

Gwede Mantashe

Supra Mahumapelo

Hlaudi Motsoeneng

Jacob Zuma

Pravin Gordhan

Nhlanhla Nene

Reggie Nkabinde

TMG Digital/The Times