We've got news for you.

Register on TimesLIVE at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Pieter-Steph du Toit wins Stormers' MVP award

05 October 2016 - 13:35 By Craig Ray

The Western Province trio of lock Pieter-Steph du Toit‚ centre Huw Jones and hooker Bongi Mbonambi were the big winners at the 2016 Western Province Rugby Football Union Awards evening held at Newlands on Tuesday evening. All three players took two big WP Rugby awards each‚ although Du Toit and Mbonambi were not present at Newlands as they are in Durban preparing for the Springbok Test against the All Blacks this week.On top of the main DHL awards‚ which recognise the best and most promising players over the season‚ there were new award categories as Land Rover introduced the Composure and Capability Award for the senior player who showed the most composure and capability under pressure.The Above and Beyond Award was for the player who gave everything on and off the field. BrightRock handed out the Bounce Players of the Year for players who have made a significant improvement in their game.Scottish international Jones walked away with the coveted WP Players' Player of the year Award‚ as well as Most Promising Back.Piet van Zyl replaces injured Rudy Paige in Boks team ahead of All Black clashScrumhalf Rudy Paige has been ruled out of this Saturday’s final 2016 Rugby Championship match against the All Blacks due to concussion. In his first season at Newlands‚ Du Toit claimed the Land Rover Composure and Capability Award‚ and the Adidas Most Valuable Player Award‚ whilst Mbonambi was named the DHL Best Forward and the BrightRock Bounce Player of the Year.The other senior awards saw Cheslin Kolbe named the Best Back and Kobus van Dyk the Most Promising Forward.WPRFU president Thelo Wakefield said: “Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners – it was a privilege to be able to pay tribute to everyone‚ from the clubs right up to the professional players and all of whom have worked so hard and deserve their rewards.“Tonight’s awards showcase the efforts that are being made to ensure that WP Rugby remains top across all levels and we wish our teams the best of luck in the knockout phase of their respective competitions‚ as they all chase national titles.”ALL THE STORMERS' 2016 INDIVIDUAL AWARD WINNERS:WP U19 Best Forward: Juarno AugustusWP U19 Best Back: David BritsWP U19 Most Promising Player: Nama XabaWP U21 Best Forward: David RibbansWP U21 Best Back: Sibahle MaxwaneWP U21 Most Promising Player: Ryan OosthuizenLand Rover Composure and Capability Award: Pieter-Steph du ToitLand Rover Above and Beyond Award: Luke StringerBrightRock U19 Bounce Player of the Year: Zain DavidsBrightRock U21 Bounce Player of the Year: Edwill van der MerweBrightRock Senior Bounce Player of the Year: Bongi MbonambiAdidas MVP Award: Pieter-Steph du ToitDHL WP Best Forward: Bongi MbonambiDHL WP Best Back: Cheslin KolbeDHL WP Most Promising Senior Forward: Kobus van DykDHL WP Most Promising Senior Back: Huw JonesDHL WP Women's Player of the Year: Babalwa LatshaDHL WP School's Player of the Year: Salmaan MoeratDHL WP Referee of the Year: Marius van der WesthuizenClub Rugby Player of the Year: Alvin BrandtDHL Players Player of the Year: Huw Jones - TMG Sport..

Support the Sunday Times by buying a subscription.

You’ve always trusted us to help you navigate the world. Support the Sunday Times by becoming a premium member for only R80 (digital access) and keep the conversation going. You can cancel anytime.

Already subscribed? Sign in below.

Digital access for only R80

Questions or problems? Email helpdesk@timeslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.