Sensational Manyama dominates PSL nomination list

27 June 2017 - 08:00
By Mninawa Ntloko
Lebogang Manyama
Image: Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images Lebogang Manyama

Cape Town City captain Lebogang Manyama leads the nominations for the Premier Soccer League awards after he was named in four categories yesterday.

Manyama had a brilliant season. He finished as the league's top goal scorer after finding the back of the net 13 times.

He has also been nominated in the footballer of the season, players' player and the Telkom Knockout player of the tournament categories. City's Aubrey Ngoma and Wits's captain Thulani Hlatshwayo received three nominations each.

The nomination list includes:

Footballer of the season:Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns) and Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits)

Top goal scorer of the season:Lebogang Manyama

Players' player of the season:Lebogang Manyama, Aubrey Ngoma (CT City) and Percy Tau (Sundowns)

Goalkeeper of the season:Darren Keet (Wits), Dennis Onyango (Sundowns) and Shu-Aib Walters (Cape Town City)

Defender of the season:Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Sifiso Hlanti (Wits) and Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs)

Midfielder of the season:Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns), Thabang Monare (Wits) and Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)

Young player of the season:Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Phakamani Mahlambi (Wits) and Nduduzo Sibiya (Arrows)

Coach of the season:Gavin Hunt (Wits), Pitso Mosimane (Downs) and Eric Tinkler (CT City)

Telkom KO player of the tournament:Michael Boxall (Supersport) Lebogang Manyama and Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)

Nedbank Cup young player of the tournament:Siyabonga Dube (Arrows), Nduduzo Sibiya (Arrows) and Teboho Mokoena (Supersport )

Nedbank Cup player of the tournament:Mpho Makola (Pirates), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport) and Abbubaker Mobara (Pirates).