United we stand: Auckland Park declaration

08 August 2010 - 02:00 By Sunday Times Comment

We, the title editors of South Africa's major publications and members of the South African National Editors' Forum, are deeply concerned about attempts to curtail freedom of expression and the free flow of information in our country.

Free speech and access to information are the lifeblood of our democracy and we are at the very heart of the struggle for freedom. Human dignity is indivisible from freedom of speech.

We vigorously oppose the restrictive clauses in the Protection of Information Bill and the proposed Media Appeals Tribunal.

We appeal to the South African Government and the ruling ANC to abide by the founding principles of our democracy, and to abandon these proposed measures.

We commit ourselves to join hands with all South Africans who value their freedom to defend these basic rights which are enshrined in our constitution.


1.Ainsley Moos, Volksblad

2.Alan Dunn, Daily News

3.Alide Dasnois, Cape Times

4.Andrew Koopman, Son & Sondag Son

5.Andrew Trench, Daily Dispatch

6.Angela Quintal, The Mercury

7.Barney Mthombothi, Financial Mail

8.Bongani Keswa, Sowetan

9.Bun Booyens, Die Burger

10.Charles Mogale, Sunday World

11.Chiara Carter, Weekend Argus

12.Chris Whitfield, Editor-in-Chief, Independent Newspapers Cape

13.Clyde Bawden, The Independent on Saturday

14.Dirk Lotriet, Sondag

15.Ferial Haffajee, City Press

16.Fikile Ntsikelelo Moya, The Witness

17.Jeremy McCabe, Weekend Post

18.Gasant Abarder, Cape Argus

19.Heather Robertson, The Herald

20.Jovial Rantao, The Star

21.Liza Albrecht, Rapport

22.Makhudu Sefara, The Sunday


23.Martin Williams, The Citizen

24.Moegsien Williams, The Star

25.Mondli Makhanya, Editor-in-Chief, Avusa

26.Nic Dawes, Mail & Guardian

27.Peet Kruger, Editor-in-Chief, Media24

28.Peter Bruce, Business Day

29.Philani Mgwaba, Sunday Tribune

30.Phylicia Oppelt, The Times

31.Ray Hartley, Sunday Times

32.Thabo Leshilo, Avusa Public Editor

33.Themba Khumalo, Daily Sun

34.Tim du Plessis, Beeld

35.Thulani Mbatha, Isolezwe

36.Zingisa Mkhuma, Pretoria News