Zonke more than delivers at Give and Take Live DVD recording - Times LIVE
Fri Apr 28 21:46:44 SAST 2017

Zonke more than delivers at Give and Take Live DVD recording

ANDILE NDLOVU | 2013-07-06 13:15:37.0
Zonke. File photo

FOR a while this past week and a half, a bout of laryngitis threatened to spoil Zonke's party- the recording of her Give and Take Live DVD.

The recording of the DVD was postponed last month, after the loss of her older sister Busisiwe.

The Feelings singer soldiered on last week, playing a show at Carnival City on Saturday night, and headlining the Old Mutual Music in the Gardens on Sunday. But by this week, she was playing it safe in an attempt to preserve her vocals.

Any boy were they impeccable by last night, at the sold-out Lyric Theatre at Goldreef City.

Dressed in a black sleeveless dress with gold embroidery and black heels, she opened with the title track of her current, and platinum-selling album, Ina Ethe. Her other sister Lulu, sitting four rows from the stage, smiled and mimed almost every lyric.

The audience, which was mostly young women, was smiling too, and took over the chorus to Thank You For Loving Me - Zonke's ode to her fans.

"I wrote this album hoping to see all these faces, just so I can say; 'Hi, I'm Zonke'. Thank you so much, I really appreciate you."

She said even when she contemplated quitting the industry, the very same fans kept her chin up.

The stage was designed to resemble a home; with a giant window, curtains, chandeliers, a piano, a side table and chairs..

Talking about a follow-up album to the 2011 release, Zonke said she felt no pressure to rush it, but debuted a new song called Say Now, which had a catchy chorus ("Any kind of loving I'll take. Anything you give me I'll take... tell me is it possible for you and I to be together? Say now, say, say, say, say now now, say...").

Showing that the song was another potential hit for her, what with the reaction, Zonke giddily pointed at Managing Director of Sony Music Entertainment Sean Watson, who was also in the audience.

After one of four outfit changes, she took the unusual step of sitting down to read fans' questions, and responding to them on camera, before resuming the action.

"They say it's the City of Gold and I'm here to dig for gold- and I found it in you," she told the audience.

No release date for the DVD has been announced yet.


1. Ina Ethe
2. My Music
3. Thank You For Loving Me
4. Say Now
5. Nameless
6. Sobabini
7. Nomanyange
8. The Love I Never Had (Mary J Blige cover)
9. Ngomso
10. Viva, The Legend
11. Uzohamb'ubuye
12. Chivalry is Dead
13. I Know A Place
14. When All is Said and Done
15. Mzi Kaphalo
16. Feelings
17. Ekhaye
18. Uzondilinda
19. Malibongwe
20. Pleasure
21. Jik'izinto


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.