• All Share : 51629.23
    UP 0.41%
    Top40 - (Tradeable) : 45069.02
    UP 0.45%
    Financial 15 : 14393.56
    UP 0.56%
    Industrial 25 : 67697.77
    DOWN -0.10%
    Resource 10 : 32578.11
    UP 1.76%

  • ZAR/USD : 13.9322
    DOWN -0.14%
    ZAR/GBP : 16.9868
    DOWN -0.76%
    ZAR/EUR : 15.1567
    DOWN -0.68%
    ZAR/JPY : 0.1335
    DOWN -0.82%
    ZAR/AUD : 10.5932
    DOWN -0.74%

  • Gold US$/oz : 1266
    UP 0.02%
    Platinum US$/oz : 931
    Silver US$/oz : 17.49
    DOWN -0.06%
    Palladium US$/oz : 617
    DOWN -0.80%
    Brent Crude : 51.6
    DOWN -0.35%

  • All data is delayed by 15 min. Data supplied by Profile Data
    Hover cursor over this ticker to pause.

Mon Oct 24 01:50:04 SAST 2016

Anne Hathaway honoured by Costume Designers Guild

Sapa-AFP | 20 February, 2013 15:57
Actress Anne Hathaway arrives for the premiere of Les Miserables in New York, December 10, 2012.

Anne Hathaway was deemed best dressed — by people who dress her for work.

The Alice in Wonderland and The Dark Knight Rises actress, who’s nominated for the supporting actress Academy Award for her role in Les Miserables, was honored Tuesday evening with the spotlight award at the 15th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards.

The spotlight award honors actors and directors for their collaborations with costume designers.

“I especially treasure the moment that happens on set when all the choices have been made, rehearsal is done, you’re about to start, you look down and you believe in what you’re wearing, so that way when you look up, you are gone, and it’s finally the character’s moment to come alive,” said Hathaway while accepting her trophy.

Other celebrity attendees at the Beverly Hills Hotel ceremony hosted by Community star Joel McHale included Jon Hamm, Connie Britton, Shirley MacLaine, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph and Russell Crowe, who presented Hathaway with her prize.

The costume designers behind Skyfall, Anna Karenina and Mirror Mirror won the night’s top prizes. Unlike the Oscars, which lump costume design into one category, the Costume Designers Guild divides film honors across three genres.

The winners were Jany Temime (Skyfall) for contemporary film, Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina) for period film and Eiko Ishioka (Mirror Mirror) for fantasy film.

Durran and the late Ishioka will compete against Joanna Johnston (Lincoln), Paco Delgado (Les Miserables) and Colleen Atwood (Snow White and the Huntsman) for the costume design Oscar at Sunday’s 85th annual Academy Awards.

In the TV categories, the winners were Caroline McCall (Downton Abbey) for period/fantasy series, Molly Maginnis (Smash) for contemporary series, Lou Eyrich (American Horror Story: Asylum) for TV movie or mini-series and Judianna Makovsky in the commercial category for a Captain Morgan ad.

Ugly Betty and Once Upon a Time costume designer Eduardo Castro received the career achievement in TV honor. Makovsky, whose credits include Big and The Hunger Games, was awarded the career achievement award in film.

“I completely forgot I put Tom Hanks in a pair of child’s underpants,” Makovsky said following a montage of her work.

Other winners included Titanic and Minority Report assistant costume designer David Le Vey for the distinguished service award and Saturday Night Live executive producer Lorne Michaels for the distinguished collaborator award, which was presented by funnyman and SNL alum Steve Martin.

“Congratulations, Lorne. I’m so proud of you,” said Martin.

“It’s going to be a long time before I forget this night, but believe me when I tell you, I will forget it.”


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.