• All Share : 51999.45
    UP 0.20%
    Top40 - (Tradeable) : 45440.23
    UP 0.29%
    Financial 15 : 14884.01
    UP 0.22%
    Industrial 25 : 68669.91
    UP 0.28%
    Resource 10 : 31745.03
    UP 0.21%

  • ZAR/USD : 13.7176
    UP 0.57%
    ZAR/GBP : 17.6815
    DOWN -0.70%
    ZAR/EUR : 15.3371
    UP 0.35%
    ZAR/JPY : 0.1348
    ZAR/AUD : 10.4602
    UP 0.42%

  • Gold US$/oz : 1337.1
    UP 0.03%
    Platinum US$/oz : 1054
    UP 0.09%
    Silver US$/oz : 19.67
    DOWN -0.86%
    Palladium US$/oz : 699
    UP 0.87%
    Brent Crude : 46.07
    DOWN -2.87%

  • All data is delayed by 15 min. Data supplied by Profile Data
    Hover cursor over this ticker to pause.

Sun Sep 25 04:02:27 SAST 2016

Grey misses bad-sex list

ANDREW DONALSDON | 22 November, 2012 00:46
Author J.K. Rowling poses for a portrait while publicising her adult fiction book 'The Casual Vacancy' at Lincoln Center in New York October 2012.

London's Literary Review has released the shortlist for its 2012 Bad Sex in Fiction Award - and despite expectations, neither EL James's Fifty Shades trilogy nor Harry Potter author JK Rowling's The Casual Vacancy has made the cut.

The purpose of the award is "to draw attention to the crude, badly written, often perfunctory use of redundant passages of sexual description in the modern novel, and to discourage it".

James's bondage-themed bonk-busters were not considered for the prize as they were not "pornographic or expressly erotic literature".

Nevertheless, the magazine did refer to her work, saying the shortlist came "in a year in which the country's obsession with mummy porn, red rooms of pain and Christian Grey has reached fever pitch".

Magazine senior editor Jonathan Beckman, said: "I don't think she needs any more publicity, does she?"

Tom Wolfe, who won the award in 2004 with his previous novel, I Am Charlotte Simmons, is back in contention, for Back to Blood.

The rest of the shortlist is: The Yips by Nicola Barker; The Adventuress: The Irresistible Rise of Miss Cath Fox by Nicholas Coleridge; Infrared by Nancy Huston; Rare Earth by Paul Mason; Noughties by Ben Masters; The Quiddity of Will Self by Sam Mills; and The Divine Comedy by Craig Raine.

The winner will be announced on December 4.


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.