• All Share : 51603.9332
    DOWN -1.36%
    Top40 - (Tradeable) : 45467.3933
    DOWN -1.55%
    Financial 15 : 17009.8766
    DOWN -1.37%
    Industrial 25 : 64103.6481
    DOWN -1.64%
    Resource 10 : 42413.2401
    DOWN -1.18%

  • ZAR/USD : 11.9881
    DOWN -0.08%
    ZAR/GBP : 17.7683
    DOWN -0.05%
    ZAR/EUR : 13.041
    ZAR/JPY : 0.1
    DOWN -0.10%
    ZAR/AUD : 9.3809
    DOWN -0.09%

  • Gold US$/oz : 1204.02
    Platinum US$/oz : 1153.38
    Silver US$/oz : 17.09
    Palladium US$/oz : 770.25
    Brent Crude : 58.92

  • All data is delayed by 15 min. Data supplied by Profile Data
    Hover cursor over this ticker to pause.

Fri Mar 27 01:48:19 SAST 2015

Delazy to lead Sama star acts

ANDILE NDLOVU | 29 April, 2013 00:52
ChianoSky has a chance to win five Sama awards, including for best female and record of the year, next weekend

Hot favourite Toya Delazy is not only a shoo-in to pick up at least one SA Music Awards gong on May 11 but has also been pencilled in to lead a slew of performers on the night.

The Love Is In The Air pop star, nominated for Record of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Best Pop Album, among others, is one of 120 individual performers for the Saturday night show.

The show's producers revealed exclusively to The Times yesterday that sultry ChianoSky, up for a few nominations, including Female Artist of the Year and Best Pop Album, and Donald Moatshe, who was surprisingly nominated only for Record of the Year for his I Deserve, are also scheduled to perform at the Sun City Superbowl.

Afro soul stars Lira, Zonke and Kabomo, rappers Reason and Proverb, rock band Desmond & the Tutus, four-times nominees The Muffinz, DJs Zinhle and Vetkuk & Mahoota, and Best Traditional Music Album nominees Dr Thomas Chauke and Zozo, and Sangre Superbeat, are also on the bill.

The awards CEO, Nhlanhla Sibisi, promised "legendary performances from past and prospective Sama winners".

The other performers will be announced closer to the awards weekend. But there are a few surprise collaborations planned for the night too, such as AKA and Jack Parrow, and Snotkop and Kurt Darren.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on SABC1 from 8.30pm, and a source revealed at the weekend that the producers are sticking to last year's formula of using various hosts, instead of one or two, and presenters.

Actors and TV presenters Boitumelo "Boity" Thulo and Akhumzi Jezile have been picked for backstage presenting duties.

The organisers revealed last week that VIPs and winners will each walk away with a goodie bag worth R18000.

The items in it include Ray-Ban sunglasses, Le Coq Sportif footwear, Azzaro fragrances, Clarins make-up, haircare products from Mizani, skincare products from Dermalogica and Monster DNA headphones.


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.