Lood locks onto SA's top rugby award - Times LIVE
Mon May 01 00:24:30 SAST 2017

Lood locks onto SA's top rugby award

CRAIG RAY | 2016-02-26 07:08:58.0
South Africa's lock Lood de Jager (C) catches the ball in a line out during a quarter final match of the 2015 Rugby World Cup between South Africa and Wales at Twickenham stadium, southwest London, on October 17, 2015. File photo

Last night, Lood de Jager became the first lock since Hennie Bekker in 1983 to be crowned the South African Rugby Player of the Year.

The 23-year-old Springbok is also the youngest player to win the award since 22-year-old Bryan Habana claimed the gong in 2005.

De Jager, who plays for the Cheetahs, is only the third lock to win the award since its inception in 1977 - following Moaner van Heerden (1977) and Bekker.

De Jager edged out Damian de Allende, Eben Etzebeth, Schalk Burger and Jaco Kriel for the top award.

"Personally I had an unbelievable year with the Springboks, although it was a bit up and down for the team," said De Jager.


Players' Player of the Year Award: Jaco Kriel
Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Jaco Kriel
Team of the Year: Golden Lions
Coach of the Year: Johan Ackermann
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Damian de Allend
Young Player of the Year: Jesse Kriel
SA Under-20 Player of the Year: Warrick Gelant
Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Werner Kok


If you have an opinion you would like to share on this article, please send us an e-mail to the Times LIVE iLIVE team. In the mean time, click here to view the Times LIVE iLIVE section.